What our Customers say about Pathfinder

Customer Comments

I just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed the Cornishman excursion on Saturday (17th September 2016). This was the first time we have travelled with Pathfinder Tours. We were a party of four and booked in first class. Everything about the tour was perfect for us. The highlight being the stretch from Exeter through to Saltash. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We can't wait for next year when we will definately be booking again.
P. and C. KELLY of WILLENHALL.
 
Would just like to say a big thank you for the great day out on the Cornishman (17th September 2016). We took the St. Ives option and had a fantastic time. Special thanks go to all the staff of the Frying Scotsman who all work so hard and are so professional. The food was wonderful, beautifully cooked and an excellent menu. Thanks to all the stewards and stewardesses who were really helpful and professional. A wonderful experience and one I hope we can repeat soon.
S. HILLIER of LYDNEY.
 
Thank you for a wonderful trip yesterday and your care and patience. I wish I could have a breakfast like that every morning! Yum! Once again many thanks. We like to support you coming into Gloucester when we can.
M. BALDERSTONE of GLOUCESTER.
 
I would like to take this rather belated opportunity to thank everyone at Pathfinder Tours for such a superb tour to Fort William on The Spring West Highlander (22nd to 25th April 2016). This is the first time that my wife and I have been on a railtour, so we did not really know what to expect. All I can say is that the whole event was way beyond any expectation. The food we enjoyed throughout the trip was outstanding, particularly as it was all prepared on board. Another outstanding feature of this tour was the brilliant organisation of the whole event. The tour went without a hitch, which included our boat trip down Loch Sheil and on to Mallaig, as well as our trip across Rannoch Moor and on to Oban. Please extend our thanks to all your team for their hard work in organising such a wonderful weekend in Scotland.
R. and J. BRADBROOK of NEWTON ABBOT.
 
We have thoroughly enjoyed our weekend on The Spring West Highlander (22nd to 25th April 2016) and would like to thank everyone involved from the company including the staff onboard, in the hotels and on the coaches. They were efficient, helpful and pleasant at all times. Even the weather was kind to us!
J. and H. WILLIAMS of STRATFORD-UPON-AVON. 
 
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the fantastic Autumn Chieftain tour that we were able to enjoy with you from 25th to 28th September 2015. It was our first tour with Pathfinder but definitely it will not be the last as I am already lining up a group to travel next year. There was nothing at all that we could fault from the time we met you at Exeter St. David's until the end of the tour. The efficiency and friendliness of all the staff on board, the meals served on board, the hotel and the two off train coach trips were, in our opinion, top class.
D. WALTON of HONITON.
 
We thoroughly enjoyed the Autumn Chieftain (25th to 28th September 2015) to Scotland. The whole experience was very professional, all your staff worked extremely hard on the days, as well as organising things beforehand to make sure all went as seamlessly as possible. Also our thanks go to the Frying Scotsman catering team who worked tirelessly throughout the trip in providing us with fantastic food! This was our second railcruise and we are sure we will be booking again soon. Thank you all!
C. THORNELL of BRISTOL.
 
Just a few words to say 'Thank You' for an outstanding weekend that my sister, her friend and myself had on the Autumn Chieftain (25th to 28th September 2015). All the organisation was superb, buses meeting the train and the planned excursions. The hotels were excellent. The food on the train was superb and we enjoyed the variety of the menus. Last but not least, the staff were efficient and friendly and although they worked long hours they always had a smile on their face. I am including all the staff in this be they chefs, train operating staff and most of all the waiters.
J. JOSEPH of NEATH.
 
As I write this I can't quite believe that this time last week I was enjoying a coach tour of the Isle of Skye! We treated ourselves to a land cruise on the Autumn Chieftain (25th to 28th September 2015) and what an experience that was. The crew, catering team, local guides and everyone involved were magnificent. When talk about the trip beforehand, some people opined that it was quite a lot of money - what a load of rubbish - if we had chosen, we could have not spent one more penny as everything was provided, wonderful food, travel, hotel, guided tours and so on. The whole four days was one of the best experiences I have enjoyed for many a year and I cannot say strongly enough to anyone comtemplating a tour - just do it, you will not regret it! As the family driver, the luxury of being able to watch the passing scenery instead of the road was a massive bonus. We cannot wait to come again.
A. ANDREWS of CHELTENHAM.
 
Many thanks for an excellent day to the DRS Open Day at Carlisle on the Lakes and Borders Explorer (18th July 2015). Having passed this way many times heading / returning  on The WCML seeing what was the other "side of the fence" was most enlightening. As per usual - very helpful Stewards and in particular the gentleman who met us at Oxford with the train tickets to Banbury and then onwards to and from The DRS Depot. Excellent catering, as always, and by the time we reached Oxford and onwards to Didcot we were well fed and watered and quite "mellow"!! Keep up the good work and hopefully we will able to travel with you again later in the year and perhaps up to Scotland in 2016 on The Spring West Highlander. Thank you and kind regards.
R. and H. PAGE of DIDCOT.
 

My wife and I went on the 1000th Pathfinder Tour (20th June 2015). We would just like to say what a great tour that was 1st class service all the way. All the staff were excellent and looked after us exceptionally well with tea coffee and food they worked very hard. We would like to say a big thank you for the Chocolate orange and pen. It was good to get the information during the tour or we may have missed some interesting places.

D. DIMOND of YATTON.

 

Just a quick note of thanks to all the team and staff on the Celebration Express (25th May 2015). We were in coach H. The service was superb and we were looked after like Royalty!! We had a rather infirm gentleman with us who thoroughly enjoyed himself and the treatment you gave him was second to none We look forward to the next trip. Once again many thanks
L. and M. SMITH. of WESTBURY.

 

Thank you for an excellent day out on the Celebration Express (25th May 2015). After all the uncertainty of whether we were going due to the Network Rail industrial action, it turned out a very good day. Please pass on our congratulations to all the staff on board.

T. BOX and D DWYER of MELKSHAM.

 
We have just got home from the Heart of Wales Explorer trip (16th May 2015) and wanted to say it was superb, as usual, staff and stewards all so friendly and the food in Premier Dining was delicious, thank you all!
D. INGRAM of KIDDERMINSTER.
 
Having just got round to reading your latest Newsletter, I am reminded that I should have told you earlier that my wife and I also enjoyed the Easter Chieftain (3rd to 6th April 2015) very much and congratulate you on the organisation and running of it. In particular, our thanks go to carriage stewards Andrew and Martin for facilitating our transfer to different seats.
A. KETT of LEDBURY.

 

Iain and I would like to thank you for a lovely weekend on the Easter Chieftain (3rd to 6th April 2015). As always with your trips the attention to detail was next to none. We loved The Castle of Mey, very emotional, many people we spoke to had the same feeling as us, The Queen Mother's presence was everywhere, in the house and gardens. The Frying Scotsman Catering team were superb in the food they produced, which was out of this world and would equal or better many top quality restaurants. So many wonderful memories of the trip, almost too many to mention, we loved it! The Pathfinder team treat us like Royalty and welcome us like family. Thank you to all and well done.

K. MCLAREN of TROWBRIDGE.

 

Just a note to say how much we enjoyed the Easter Chieftain trip (3rd to 6th April 2015). It was fabulous in every way, the catering was excellent, the hotels very comfy and clean and the off train trips were very entertaining with good guides. Even the weather was kind to us. We couldn't have had better. Thank you all again for your hard work making everything run so smoothly.

J. and J. PROTHEROUGH of CHELTENHAM.

 

Thank you for a most enjoyable weekend on the Easter Chieftain (3rd to 6th April 2015). The staff on the train were first class as was the wonderful food service. The little eggs under the cup one day and a chocolate rabbit the next was a lovely touch. A magic weekend. We were looked after so well by everybody. Thank you again.

J. and A. ILES of TROWBRIDGE.

 

I would like to thank your staff on the trip to Ludlow and Shrewsbury (29 November 2014). Although we didnt travel with steam, the trip was exceptional mostly due to your crew on that day. We had only booked the standard fare as it was the first time we had travelled with you, but we upgraded to Premier Dining when we left Trowbridge. The food and the service could not be faulted, so congratulations to you all and we hope to travel with you again in the near future.

T. PERKINS and G. GRIFFIN of TROWBRIDGE.

 

May my wife and I thank you for a splendid day out on the 20th September 2014 when we took passage on The Cornish Explorer. The service was first class and the food was marvellous. Your staff on the train were excellent and couldn't be faulted. We will certainly be looking forward to taking another trip with your company next year.

J. BOWLEY of WINCHESTER.

 

Apologies for this late note, but we wanted to say 'Thank You' for the wonderful Autumn Highlander tour back in September (27th to 30th September 2013). It was fabulous from start to finish and well worth travelling half way around the planet for. A big thank you to all concerned, especially Andrew, Lesley and all the volunteers, the catering crew, the chef and the amazing tour guides in Scotland. Trish was remarkable! We've never experienced a tour guide with such passion and exuberant knowledge. This is our second trip with you and it definitely won't be the last. Very much looking forward to seeing you again in the (hopefully) not too distant future.

M. D'ARCY-IRVINE and B. WATSON of SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA.

 

We feel compelled to write to you to express our appreciation for the excellent service which we received on board
the York, Moors and Scarborough Explorer (8th June 2013). We very much enjoyed our excursion, which was to celebrate our wedding anniversary. My wife has several dietary issues which were fully accommodated in the meals that she was offered. The catering staff were extremely obliging and helpful and, as a result, she had no difficulty in enjoying superb meals. Really, nothing seemed too much trouble for them. We were also well cared for by the steward for our carriage, who was not only helpful and informative, but also displayed courtesy with good humour which engendered confidence in Pathfinder Tours and the way in which they value customers. All are to be commended and thanked on making this a very special day out for us.

J. DAVIES and K. TOMLINSON of ABINGDON.

 

I would just like to say a huge thank you for the Edin Burgh Scot excursion (6th April 2013). I was totally impressed by the professionalism that all the on board staff displayed throughout the whole journey and the cleanliness of the train with constant rubbish collections and toilet cleans. I shall deeply look forward to booking my next excursion through yourselves.

M. BROOM-EDWARDS of MAIDENHEAD.

 

We would all just like to take this opportunity to thank the Pathfinder and all Frying Scotsman staff for their professional service and helpfulness throughout the whole four day Easter Highlander (29th March to 1st April 2013) landcruise. Nothing was too much trouble for them and the coach "A" was always well presented and clean. The toilets kept very good too. This turned out to be one of the best UK trips we have had. So many thanks to all involved for a great adventure from all ten of us. Looking forward to the next one already!

M. ANDERSON of NORTON FITZWARREN.

 

Just a brief note to thank and congratulate you on such a successful Easter Highlander (29th March to 1st April 2013) landcruise. This was the first time that I have taken such a trip and together with my mother and aunt we considered the break to be excellent. The itinerary was varied and very well organised with service, food, accommodation and general hospitality all first rate!

T. PORTER of STROUD.

 

My husband and I travelled on the Spectacular Snowdonian excursion (22nd October 2012). It was our first trip with Pathfinder Tours and it definately will not be our last. We had a fantastic day and really enjoyed travelling by train as it used to be years ago. We chose the Premier Dining option and were not disappointed - the food was lovely and the staff were so cheerful and helpful. All the Pathfinder volunteers were also delightful, knowledgeable and always had a smile on their faces. Well done and thank you.

A. ASHTON of WORCESTER.

 

Last Monday my wife and I travelled on your Spectacular Snowdonian excursion (22nd October 2012). We travelled Premier Dinings and the reason that I am writing is to thank you for such a memorable day. The whole experience was wonderful. From the friendly help and guidance from your volunteer stewards to the service provided by the catering staff. It all went towards creating a super day. We were also delighted with the quality of the food served. The whole day was rounded off perfectly when the chef and carriage steward came around and talked to each table individually.

I. CROWE of GLOUCESTER.

 

Just a note to say a special 'thank you' to you and your staff for helping to make a birthday treat extra special on The Heart of Wales Rambler (6th October 2012). It was our first trip with your company and we were very impressed by the high standard of service, the information provided, the quality of the food and the care given to all the passengers. Looking forward to our next outing with you. Best wishes for your continued success.

M. CROW of WOLVERHAMPTON.

 

My Husband and I have just returned from an amazing weekend on board The Autumn Chieftain (28th September to 1st October 2012). We had a brilliant time! The staff: Tim, Andrew, Shirley, Richard, Hannah and Peter, were outstanding and looked after everybody so well. The Frying Scotsman catering team were also fantastic, helpful, polite, friendly and went out their way to give you an alternative if you didn't like something on the menu. Well done to them as the food was outstanding. We had one hiccup on the Sunday with the line to Stranraer where a lorry hit the railway bridge, it was dissapointing not to be able to go to Stranraer and Portpatrick but the stewards did everything possible. I had my birthday on the train and again the stewards went out of their way for us by putting banners up around our table to make my day special. So thankyou to Pathfinder Tours for a wonderful holiday weekend. We couldn't fault it at all and your stewards are a credit to your company.
J. and G. HUNT of WARWICK.

 

On behalf of my travelling companion and myself I am writing to thank you very much for the superb day out that you gave us on the Tamar Devonian (28th July 2012) with 71000 "Duke of Gloucester" and 60163 "Tornado". From a steam locomotive point of view, there were some very interesting and memorable moments. We also appreciated your efforts in ensuring that we had two powerful steam locomotives (and no diesels!) for the day. We found the rolling stock very comfortable and in considerably better condition than on a previous trip this year with another operator. The catering arrangements were most acceptable and the staff assigned to our coach - G - were all very helpful, friendly and courteous. Again, many thanks to you all for your hard work.

T. PHILIIPS of STRATFORD UPON AVON.

 

I have gone all over the UK since I was 5 with my grandad, most with Pathfinder, and I often wonder why I get up at 1am to get to Crewe from Cumbria. And the staff and the day is why! Pathfinder Tours - you are superb!

G. HODGSON of WORKINGTON.

 

Thanks to you ALL for a good day out on the Buffer Puffer 9.0 (17th September 2011). I know following the unexpected incident at Berkhampsted the team did their best to give us the day out we all expected. Considering the difficulty in the London area with paths, we achieved most of what we expected. The negative attitude by some people should not taken to heart. Your efforts should be praised. Many thanks again.

C. TYLER of KETTERING.

 

Just had the most fantastic day on The Deltic Dorset Explorer (3rd September 2011). Again, thank you to everyone for making the trip a memorable one which won't ever be forgotten. Fantastic route that was taken, especially along the Dorset coast and up through the Cotswolds.
P. OGDEN of CHELTENHAM.
 

We went on the Torbay Flyer excursion (26th August 2011) and would just like to say what an experience we had, my compliments must go to all the staff from Pathfinder for a well and truly great day, it was full of fun and laughter.
P. OGDEN of CHELTENHAM.

 

My wife and I went on the Cumbrian Coaster (27th July 2011) starting at Cam and Dursley and we would like to re-iterate what we said to your representative on the return journey. We were extremely impressed by the whole experience as everything was magnificently organised and gave us great confidence and enjoyment. Everyone, both on the train, the coach to and from Ullswater and on the boat were most friendly and excellent in their service, and it was impossible, a rare thing these days, to find fault. Thank you for making our day a memorable one and please rest assured that we will be recommending your tours to our friends as well as booking in the future.

B. and L. PRIEST of DURSLEY.

 

We have just returned from the Lakes and Borders Explorer (16th July 2011) where we boarded at Oxford. This is the third journey we have done with Pathfinder. I would just like to say that the trip (and the others) were very well organised and people must have worked very hard to make it work. The staff were very welcoming and did a very good job. Thank you all for a very enjoyable day.

P. and C. ADAMS of WITNEY.

 

Just a note to say thank you for a wonderful excursion on the Mazey Day Cornishman (25th June 2011) to Penzance. This was my fifth journey with Pathfinder Tours which I would recommend to everyone. I have travelled in all three classes, this time I went Premier Dining. The stewards and stewardessess deserve a mention for all their hard work! Again, thank you to all, including the office staff. I look forward to another journey.

C. GLIDDON of EVESHAM.

 

My wife and I travelled on the Canterbury Tornado (18th June 2011) and I have to say it was an excellent day out. We were all fed and watered by Frying Scotsman Catering Services and your friendly and enthusiastic volunteers on the train helped to make the journey most enjoyable. No complaints at all!

G. SALT of FAREHAM.

 

I would like to say a big thank you for the Rother-Don Rambler railtour (29th January 2011), I thoroughly enjoyed it and the loco's performed faultlessly. Also to only leave Bristol a minute late and arrive a minute late was a very good record, just one of those days where infrastructure was working fine and locos were not suffering faults. Would you also kindly pass on my thanks to the barman in the Gricers Grill coach for his excellent customer skills, always referring me and other men who were there when I was as 'Sir' and also for his cheeky funny mood, top man! I would also like to thank my coach steward for his customer skills when giving out Brochures when we joined and also whoever it was who came down with the bin bag now and again, a much needed service and came down frequent enough rather than just once or twice. A big thanks goes to yourselves for putting the tour together, making good announcements and generally making the tour a great environment to be in. I look forward to travelling on the Central Wales tour in March!

J. UNDERWOOD of TROWBRIDGE.

 

We thought we should write and express our thanks for a great day out. Everything was first class, the organization, catering and commentary could not be faulted. The steam section of the journey was over a difficult route and was undertaken with skill and the train crew and support workers should not be forgotten for giving us a day to remember.

T. and L. GOSS of TOTNES.